

Early Childhood Advisory Council Meeting

December 6, 2023, immediately following the SCFS Board of Trustees Meeting SC First Steps

Minutes

Council Members Present

(16):

Jacque Curtin
Mary Lynne Diggs
John Hayes
Sen. Greg Hembree
Constance Holloway
Robert Kerr
Michael Leach
David Lisk
Dave Morley, Chairman

Janie Neeley Dorothy Priester Roger Pryor Mary Anne Scott Dr. Edward Simmer

Wes Wooten Sue Williams

Kenya Johnson

Council Members Absent (9)

Rep. Terry Alexander Dr. Robert Bank Rep. Shannon Erickson Matthew Ferguson Jesica Mackey Sen. Gerald Malloy Jack McBride Dr. Amy Williams Dr. Brenda Williams

Attendees (69)

Georgia Mjartan **Avian Jones** Aleigha Butler Amanda Bailey Amy Engle **Brandie Maness** Bresheca Funches Carletta Isreal Chastine Dickey-Jackson Cheryl Scales Cindy Ellis Cindy Galloway Donna Mason Dwana Doctor Felicia Battle Felicia Davis Gina Beebe Grace Avin Jabari Clyburn Jennifer Williams Jessica Moore Jon Artz Julie Greer Kathy Fitzgerald

Kathy Miller

Kelly Cochran

Kristen Martocchio Kristin Zeaser-Sydow Laura Baker Leah Crosby Lee Patterson Lexi Jones Linnie Miller Lis Guimaraes Meredith Dickens Parry Wright Little Pauletta Plowden Rebecca Clark Roddrick Dugger Ryan Shinn Samantha Ingram Sarah Crawford SheKiah Reese Silvia Landrum Stacy Greenwalt Tiffany Outlaw Tyshica McConner Beth Moore Chelsea Richard

Kaitlyn Richards

Mark Barnes

Derek Cromwell Martha Strickland Meghan Dyson Kristine Jenkins Kerry Cordan Kenna Hoover Kim Trudell Joy Mazur Dorian Young Shayla Pettigrew David Lisk **Dorothy Priester** Elizabeth Dudek Shelley Canright Myrelo King Tomeiko Wright Jovanna Lewis



The meeting began at 3:29 p.m.

Mr. Morley asked for a motion to adopt the agenda. Sen. Hembree provided the motion, seconded by Ms. Neeley, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Morley asked for a motion to approve the October 19, 2023 minutes. Ms. Neeley provided the motion. Mr. Kerr provided the second and the motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Diggs shared that Head Start legislation is being reviewed due to income challenges that families are facing and that it could possibly be adjusted.

Dr. Simmer announced that Danielle Wingo is the new director of DHEC's Bureau of Maternal and Child Health.

Ms. Mjartan shared that the ICC is on track with the South Carolina Birth through Five plan.

Ms. Mjartan reported on the ECAC where she shared information on the 2024 Summit on Early Childhood. She also provided a year in review on the work of the ECAC, which included highlights of the Family Voice Council and the First Five SC Toolkit.

Mr. Morley asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Sen. Hembree provided the motion, seconded by Dr. Simmer, and unanimously approved. The meeting ended at 3:43 pm.