

Early Childhood Advisory Council Meeting

October 17, 2024, immediately following the SCFS Board of Trustees Meeting SC First Steps

Minutes

Council Members Present (16):

Rep. Terry Alexander
Dr. Robert Bank
Jacque Curtin
Mary Lynne Diggs
John Hayes
Sen. Greg Hembree

David Lisk Jesica Mackey Jack McBride Dave Morley, Chairman Janie Neeley

Dorothy Priester Dr. Ed Simmer Wes Wooten Sue Williams

Dr. Amy Williams, Vice Chair

Council Members Absent (8):

Rep. Shannon Erickson Dr. Matthew Ferguson Constance Holloway

Robert Kerr Mike Leach

Sen. Gerald Malloy

Roger Pryor Mary Anne Scott

Attendees (58)

Ann Vandervliet Jennifer Williams
Mark Barnes Jenny May
Avian Jones Jessica Sharp
Alissa Durham Jon Artz
Amanda Bailey Kaitlyn Richard

Amber Gillum Kathy Fitzgerald Karen Oliver Amira Hulwe **Betty Gardiner** Kate Roach Beverly Dickey Daniel Kenna Hoover **Brandie Maness** Kerry Cordan **Brenda Cantey** Kristen Martocchio Carletta Isreal Kristin Zease-Syder Chelsea Adamson Kristine Jenkins Chelsea Richard Krvstal Reid

Christine Zamboki LaMyra Dukes-Sanders

Cindy Galloway
Cindy Riley
Courtney Johnson
David O'Kelly
David Lisk
Derek Cromwell
Dorothy Priester
Lexi Jones
Mary Laney
Molly Tuck
Morgan Maxwell
Pauletta Plowden
Samantha Ingram

Emma Matzko Sharonda Burison-Harris

Emily Bannister Shayla Pettigrew
Felicia Battle SheKiah Reese
Felicia O'Neal Theresa Harrison
Janice Kilburn Tiffany Outlaw

Tomeiko Wright Typhani Littlejohn Vernoica Reynolds Willie Mae Graham



The meeting was called to order at 2:44 p.m.

Dr. Simmer provided the motion to adopt the agenda, seconded by Dr. Williams, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Williams provided a motion to approve the August 15, 2024 minutes, seconded by Ms. Williams, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Tuck presented six Early Childhood Integrated Data System (ECIDS) policies to be approved.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to approve the Data Analysis and Reporting Policy. The motion was seconded by Ms. Williams and unanimously approved.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to approve the Data Destruction Policy. The motion was seconded by Mr. Lisk and unanimously approved.

Ms. Williams made a motion to approve the Privacy and Confidentiality Policy. The motion was seconded by Mr. Wooten and unanimously approved.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to approve the Data Quality Policy. The motion was seconded by Ms. Priester and unanimously approved.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to approve the Data Scope and Management Policy. The motion was seconded by Ms. Lisk and unanimously approved.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to approve the Access and Acquisition Policy. The motion was seconded by Ms. Priester and unanimously approved.

Ms. Gillum reported on the Interagency Collaboration Committee. The ICC was able to view a demonstration of ECIDS. They are verifying that data sources and other backup information in the Birth Through Five Plan is accurate. The ICC will continue to work on refining the suggested priorities on for 2025.

Ms. Diggs shared that the Aiken and Barnwell communities will have Acelero as the new Head Start grantee effective November 1st. Charleston County Early Head Start child care partnership will have the SC Association of Community Action Partnerships as the new head start grantee effective November 1st.

Ms. Barnes reported on the activities of the ECAC. He shared that the ESSER funds have ended, and he thanked the Department of Education for their assistance with making those funds available. He mentioned that the Family Voice Council is recruiting new members. He provided an update on analytics for Palmetto Pre-K and First Five SC portals. Mr. Barnes thanked the Summit sponsors and invited all trustees to attend this year's Summit of December 5th. He also shared that a First Five



stakeholder engagement report from beneficiaries and navigators is being prepared and will be shared in December.

Ms. Gillum announced that DSS was awarded the PDG renewal grant of \$8 million for three years.

Rep. Alexander made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Ms. Mackey, and approved unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 3:12 p.m.