Council Members

The South Carolina Early Childhood Advisory Council serves the state as required by the Improving Head Start for School Readiness Act of 2007. Members of the Council are appointed by the Governor of South Carolina. Representatives of specific state agencies and stakeholder groups are required to be present on the Council. The Council shall include a representative from: the state agency responsible for child care, the state’s educational agency, local providers of early education services, Head Start agencies, state director of the Head Start Collaboration and Children’s Trust of South Carolina. The state director of South Carolina First Steps shall coordinate the activities of the Council. The Governor has the flexibility to appoint additional representatives.


Members of the South Carolina Early Childhood Advisory Council

Chair, Governor’s Designee:
David Morley

Vice Chair:
Dr. Shelley Canright, Early Childhood Educator


  • Representative Rita Allison, SC House of Representatives, House Education and Public Works Committee Chair
  • Representative Jerry N. Govan, SC House of Representatives
  • Senator Greg Hembree, SC Senate, Senate Education Committee Chair
  • Senator Gerald Malloy, SC Senate

Agency Directors:

  • Joshua Baker, SC Department of Health and Human Services, Director
  • Mary Lynne Diggs, SC Head Start Collaboration Office, Director
  • Michael Leach, SC Department of Social Services, Director
  • Dr. David Mathis, SC Department of Education, Deputy Superintendent - Superintendent’s Designee
  • Mary Poole, SC Department of Disabilities and Special Needs, Director
  • Marshall Taylor Jr., SC Department of Health and Environmental Control, Acting Director
  • Sue Williams, Children’s Trust of SC, Chief Executive Officer


  • Walter Fleming Jr., Business Community
  • Timothy Holt, Business Community
  • Angel Johnson-Brebner, Parent of a Young Child
  • Julie Hussey, Parent of a Young Child
  • Jennifer McConnell, Childcare Provider
  • Alexia Newman, Medical / Childcare Development Provider
  • Roger Pryor Jr., Childcare Provider
  • Dr. Amy Williams, Medical Provider


Early Childhood Advisory Council Member Agencies

Early Childhood Advisory Council Meetings

Please click here for a list of meeting dates.

Stay up to date on News + Events.